The Southern Public Relations Federation (SPRF)  established the Chapter of Distinction Awards (CODA) program in 2009 to promote continuous improvement in chapters’ function, outreach, and benefits to their members and communities. The competition allows chapters to use best practices in public relations by setting objectives in each area, developing a clear strategy and underlying tactics to achieve those objectives, and provide measurable evaluation. The program encourages member organizations to annually evaluate their activities as well as plan ahead to make progress in these areas to improve the chapter and its services.

SPRF awards a first-place and runner-up in each of eight categories (2019 winner - click to view entry)

Each of SPRF's 21 chapters may choose to compete in any or all categories. Each first-place win earns a chapter four (4) points, with two (2) points awarded for second place and one (1) point for third place. At the conclusion of judging, the chapter accumulating the most points overall will be recognized as the Jamie Palmer Chapter of the Year earning a $100 honorarium, and the individual who led the chapter during the awards’ eligibility period named SPRF President of the Year.

All entries must be submitted via the SPRF online awards management system by midnight on Sunday, August 16, 2020.

Chapters will upload two PDF documents -- an entry narrative (up to 8 pages double-spaced) and a second file containing all support materials -- reflecting work completed between January 1 and December 31, 2019, for each category. Judging criteria are based on the four-step formal RPIE process: Research, Planning, Implementation, and Evaluation, supported by a file of collateral materials.

Click here to download the full rules and requirements (opens in a new window) 

Fees are $25 for each category entered. Checks should be made payable to SPRF and mailed to:

c/o Micah Walker
Southern Heritage Bank
5211 Jackson Street Ext.
Alexandria, LA 71303
[email protected]

Awards will be announced during the SPRF Annual Conference in Tupelo, MS Sept. 14 & 15.

Upload your chapter's entries to SPRF's online awards management platform (opens in new window)

  • 2019    PRCA North Alabama / Kristen Pepper, President

  • 2018    PRCA Mobile / Jennifer Ekman, President

  • 2017    PRCA Mobile / Renie Baya Kennemer, President

  • 2016    PRCA Mobile / Sabrina Alexander, APR, President

  • 2015    PRCA North Alabama / Leah Gradl, President

  • 2014    PRCA North Alabama / Abby Guasti, APR, President

  • 2013    PRCA Mobile / Amanda Gonzales, President

  • 2012    PRCA Mobile / Penny Hatcher, President

  • 2011    PRCA Mobile / Leslie Schraeder, President

  • 2010    PRCA Mobile / Lindsay Hutchisson, President

  • 2009    PRCA Mobile / Susan Rak-Blanchard, President

Jamie Palmer, APR, is a longtime member of SPRF who has lived in all four member states, as well as the Middle East, Argentina, and now Colombia. Palmer was in the charter group of Senior Practitioners in 1990 and served as the SPRF President in 1991. In 1995, she received SPRF’s highest individual honor, the Professional Achievement Award. She is a founding member of SPRF’s Council of Leaders. Palmer has a bachelor’s degree in public relations from the University of Oklahoma and a master’s in public relations/advertising from the University of Alabama. She has worked in the agency, nonprofit and corporate sectors and has taught public relations writing, management, and campaigns.