Chapter of Distinction Program

Click here to learn more about entering the Chapter of Distinction Program. For more information, contact Aleis Tusa, 2019 Program Chair.

Click here to upload your chapter's entries to SPRF's online awards management platform.

Check out this funny video to learn more about the Chapters of SPRF.

History of the Chapter of Distinction Program
The Chapter of Distinction Program began in 2009. SPRF established the awards program to promote continuous improvement in the function, outreach and benefits to members and communities stemming from the activities of its member chapters. This annual program encourages member organizations to evaluate yearly their own activities as well as plan ahead to make measurable progress in these areas.

At the annual conference, SPRF awards the top chapter and one Honorable Mention in eight individual achievement categories and recognizes the top, overall chapter with the Jamie Palmer Award. The individual who led the top, overall chapter during the awards’ eligibility period is named the SPRF President of the Year. Categories are as follows.

  • Accreditation
  • Chapter Management
  • Communication
  • Membership
  • Programs
  • Projects
  • Education
  • Public Service

Jamie Palmer

Jamie Palmer, APR, is a longtime member of SPRF who has lived in all four member states, as well as the Middle East, Argentina and now Colombia. Palmer was in the charter group of Senior Practitioners in 1990 and served as the SPRF President in 1991. In 1995, she received SPRF’s highest individual honor, the Professional Achievement Award. She is a founding member of SPRF’s Council of Leaders. Palmer has a bachelor’s degree in public relations from the University of Oklahoma and a master’s in public relations/advertising from the University of Alabama. She has worked in the agency, nonprofit and corporate sectors and has taught public relations writing, management and campaigns.

Jamie Palmer Chapter of the Year Winners

  • 2016 – PRCA Mobile / Sabrina Alexander, APR, President
  • 2015 – PRCA North Alabama / Leah Gradl, President
  • 2014 – PRCA North Alabama / Abby Guasti, APR, President
  • 2013 – PRCA Mobile / Amanda Gonzales, President
  • 2012 – PRCA Mobile / Penny Hatcher, President
  • 2011 – PRCA Mobile / Leslie Schraeder, President
  • 2010 – PRCA Mobile / Lindsay Hutchisson, President
  • 2009 – PRCA Mobile / Susan Rak-Blanchard, President