SPRF | Educator of the Year

Initiated in 2008, each year SPRF recognizes outstanding professional educator members through its Educator of the Year award. Each state organization (ECPRO, PRAL, PRAM, PRCA) is invited to nominate one outstanding public relations educator for the SPRF Educator of the Year Award. The recipient of this award is announced at the SPRF annual conference.

SPRF established this award to recognize an educator who has taught public relations or a closely-related discipline and who has demonstrated a commitment to advance the profession of public relations.

For award guidelines, please click here.


Jensen Moore-Copple, Ph.D. is the 2014 award recipient. She is an assistant professor of strategic communication in the Manship School of Mass Communication at Louisiana State University.

Her service-learning courses have engaged more than 160 students in civic engagement projects for 25 local non-profits in the past three years. She is currently the faculty adviser for PRSSA at LSU and the Manship School’s Bateman Team.

Prior to joining the LSU faculty Moore taught in the P.I. Reed School of Journalism at West Virginia University, overseeing its minors in public relations, advertising and sports journalism. She developed online graduate courses for the school’s Integrated Marketing Communication program while also designing and teaching online master’s courses for the Missouri School of Journalism and teaching at Wayne State University. She is considered an expert in online course development and instruction.  

She was nominated for the award by PRAL. The other nominee was: Karyn Brown, Mississippi State University (PRAM).


Past Educator of the Year Recipients:

  • 2013 – Nadia Bush, University of South Alabama – PRAM
  • 2012 – Suzanne Horsley, PhD, University of Alabama – PRCA
  • 2011 – Melissa “Missy” LaBorde, APR, Louisiana State University/Alexandria – PRAL
  • 2010 – Lisa Darnell, APR, University of North Alabama – PRCA
  • 2009 – Robin Street, APR, University of Mississippi – PRAM
  • 2008 – Laura Walton, PhD, APR, Mississippi State University – PRAM